Community 1st Credit Union 2020 Scholarship Program Awards $42,000 to Area Students

OTTUMWA, IA – Community 1st Credit Union 2020 Scholarships totaling $42,000 will be awarded this spring to 22 area high school seniors and returning college students.

The credit union has announced the recipients of a $4,000 continuing education scholarship, 17 scholarship awards of $2,000 each and four $1,000 awards.

The C1st $2,000 scholarship winners include Faith Royer of Van Buren High School and a C1st Fairfield branch member; Karena Johnson of Ottumwa High School and an Ottumwa Penn branch member; Rebecca Lynn of WACO High School and a Washington branch member; Madison Brandt of Ottumwa High School and an Ottumwa Richmond branch member; Allysa Enterline of Southeast Warren High School and a Knoxville branch member; and Taylor Pennington of Chariton High School and a Chariton branch member.

Additional $2,000 scholarship winners are Elijah Moberg of Mount Pleasant Christian School and a Mount Pleasant branch member; Alexis Briggs of Pella Community High School and a Pella branch member; Heather Willmott of Indianola High School and an Indianola branch member; Grace Fleming of Davis County Community High School and a Bloomfield branch member; Thayda Houser of Seymour High School and a Centerville branch member; and Delaney Harbison of Pekin High School and a Fairfield branch member.

Also gaining C1st $2,000 scholarship awards are Madeline Keough of Oskaloosa High School and an Oskaloosa branch member; Savannah Stalzer of Albia High School and an Albia branch member; Hasya Joshi of Ottumwa High School and an Ottumwa Venture (Walmart) member; Laura Hovenga of Grinnell Community Senior High School and a Grinnell branch member; and Simon Novak of George Washington High School (Cedar Rapids) and a Cedar Rapids branch member.

The 2020 C1st $4,000 scholarship went to Isabelle Hernandez of Linn-Mar High School (Marion) and a Cedar Rapids branch member. Hernandez was the winner among C1st employees’ children.

Four $1,000 scholarships were awarded to non-traditional students returning to earn a college degree. The winners are Frank Vega Velazquez a Cedar Rapids branch member attending Cornell College; Karen Pate a Fairfield branch member attending Buena Vista University; Whitney Burton an Albia branch member attending Indian Hills Community College; and Jessica Rios an Ottumwa Richmond branch member attending Joliet Junior College in Joliet, Ill.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, C1st Scholarship awards will be mailed instead of given out at area high school scholarship award events. The credit union has a long tradition of supporting local communities and education through its scholarship program. C1st partnered with Scholarship America this year to enhance the program’s administration and application process. Scholarship America is a non-profit organization that partners with businesses to provide education assistance and recognition programs.

Community 1st Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative with more than $780 million in assets. The credit union, established in 1936, serves more than 60,000 members.

C1st has more than 250 employees and is headquartered in Ottumwa. The credit union has branches in Albia, Bloomfield, Cedar Rapids, Centerville, Chariton, Fairfield, Grinnell, Indianola, Knoxville, Mount Pleasant, Oskaloosa, Ottumwa, Pella and Washington.

For more information, call 866.360.5370 or visit

» Return

Our family of companies and strategic partners:

Iowa Credit Union League
7745 Office Plaza Dr. North, Suite 170
West Des Moines, IA 50266
Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2021