Community 1st Credit Union 2018 Scholarship Program Awards $42,000 to Area Graduates

OTTUMWA, IA – Community 1st Credit Union 2018 Scholarships totaling $42,000 will be awarded to 19 area high school seniors in May.

The credit union has announced the recipients of two $4,000 continuing education scholarships and 17 additional awards of $2,000 each.

The 2018 C1st $4,000 scholarships went to Madeline McDonald of Centerville High School and Malea Beeson of Ottumwa High School. McDonald was the top applicant among credit union members who are their family’s first generation to attend college. Beeson was the winner among C1st employees’ children.

The C1st $2,000 scholarship winners include Janna Balek of Newton Senior High School and a C1st Grinnell branch member; Ashley Birdsell of New London Jr.-Sr. High School and a Mount Pleasant branch member; Abigail Burbridge of Chariton High School and a Chariton branch member; Jenna Gilliam of Lincoln High School in Des Moines and a Indianola branch member; Jace Glosser of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont High School and a Venture branch member; and Jordan Guezimane of Fairfield Community School and a Fairfield branch member.

Additional $2,000 scholarship winners are Riley Jones of Davis County High School and a Bloomfield branch member; Collin Kepner of Ottumwa High School and a Richmond branch member; Colton Major of Pleasantville High School and a Knoxville branch member; Isaiah Martin of Pella Community High School and a Pella branch member: Jenah McCarty of Albia Community High School and an Albia branch member; and Abbie Pangburn of Centerville High School and a Centerville branch member

Also gaining C1st $2,000 scholarship awards are Jordyn Sanders of Twin Cedars High School in Bussey and an Oskaloosa branch member; Dylan Sheely of Clear Creek Amana High School in Tiffin and a Cedar Rapids branch member; Baylee Stalder of Washington High School and a Washington branch member; Jarhett Vanenglenhoven of Ottumwa High School and a Pennsylvania Avenue branch member; and Madeline Webb of Pella Community High School and a Pella branch member. 

The C1st Scholarships will be given out at area high school scholarship award events in May. The credit union has a long tradition of supporting local communities and education through its scholarship program. C1st partnered with Scholarship America this year to enhance the program’s administration and application process. Scholarship America is a non-profit organization that partners with businesses to provide education assistance and recognition programs.

Community 1st Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative with more than $630 million in assets. The credit union, established in 1936, serves more than 58,000 members.

C1st has more than 250 employees and is headquartered in Ottumwa. The credit union has branches in Albia, Bloomfield, Cedar Rapids, Centerville, Chariton, Fairfield, Grinnell, Indianola, Knoxville, Mount Pleasant, Oskaloosa, Ottumwa, Pella and Washington.

For more information, call 866.360.5370 or visit

» Return

Our family of companies and partners:

Iowa Credit Union League
7745 Office Plaza Dr. North, Suite 170
West Des Moines, IA 50266
Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2019