Community 1st Credit Union 2019 Scholarship Program Awards $42,000 to Area Graduates

OTTUMWA, IA – Community 1st Credit Union 2019 Scholarships totaling $42,000 will be awarded to 19 area high school seniors in May.

The credit union has announced the recipients of two $4,000 continuing education scholarships and 17 additional awards of $2,000 each.

The 2019 C1st $4,000 scholarships went to Hollie Loper of Pekin High School and Madeline Holle of Oskaloosa High School. Loper was the top applicant among credit union members who are their family’s first generation to attend college. Holle was the winner among C1st employees’ children.

The C1st $2,000 scholarship winners include Abigail Adams of Chariton High School and a C1st Chariton branch member; Brandon Bone of Ottumwa High School and an Ottumwa Venture branch member; Erin Duenwald of Pella Community High School and a Pella branch member; Henry Hammer of Ottumwa High School and an Ottumwa Richmond branch member; Alexis Harrington of Moravia High School and an Ottumwa Penn branch member; and Sarah Herz of Albia Community School and an Albia branch member.

Additional $2,000 scholarship winners are Lauren Imhoff of Keota Jr./Sr. High School and a Washington branch member; Rylie Johnson of Davis County High School and a Centerville branch member; Jacqueline Lensing of Pella Community High School and a Pella branch member; Mickayla McGill of Knoxville High School and a Knoxville branch member; Noah Mumby of Iowa Valley (Marengo) High School and a Cedar Rapids branch member; and Briar Phillips of Indianola High School and an Indianola branch member.

Also gaining C1st $2,000 scholarship awards are Bryanna Popejoy of Fairfield High School and a Fairfield branch member; Zoe Runyon of Mount Pleasant High School and a Mount Pleasant branch member; Sandra Skouson of Grinnell Community Sr. High School and a Grinnell branch member; Grace Ver Steegh of Oskaloosa High School and a Oskaloosa branch member; and Nathan Zmolek of Davis County High School and a Bloomfield branch member. 

The C1st Scholarships will be given out at area high school scholarship award events in May. The credit union has a long tradition of supporting local communities and education through its scholarship program. C1st partnered with Scholarship America this year to enhance the program’s administration and application process. Scholarship America is a non-profit organization that partners with businesses to provide education assistance and recognition programs.

Community 1st Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative with more than $660 million in assets. The credit union, established in 1936, serves more than 58,000 members.

C1st has more than 250 employees and is headquartered in Ottumwa. The credit union has branches in Albia, Bloomfield, Cedar Rapids, Centerville, Chariton, Fairfield, Grinnell, Indianola, Knoxville, Mount Pleasant, Oskaloosa, Ottumwa, Pella and Washington.

For more information, call 866.360.5370 or visit

» Return

Our family of companies and partners:

Iowa Credit Union League
7745 Office Plaza Dr. North, Suite 170
West Des Moines, IA 50266
Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2019