March 9, 2018

In this Issue:

 Credit Union Statehouse Rally Recap

On Wednesday, over 700 credit union advocates gathered in Des Moines to rally, meet with legislators and show their opposition to a tax increase on credit union members. Beginning with a briefing in the State Historical Building, Jim Nussle, President of CUNA and former Iowa Congressman, spoke to the crowd about the national implications of Iowa's tax battle. State Representative Bob Kressig also spoke to the group and a legislative briefing was provided.  Around 12:30, the masses walked to the west steps of the statehouse for a rally, where Pat Jury, Jim Nussle, Kenia Calderon and Rep. Walt Rogers spoke.  It was a tremendous showing of support for the credit union movement and we couldn't have done it without all of you - thank you! Pictures of the event can be viewed here.

The morning of the rally, ICUL ran full page ads in several major newspapers across the state. Click here to see the ad. The day's events were covered by several other media outlets. In case you missed any of these, here is a media roundup from the event:

Radio Iowa
Cedar Rapids Gazette
Des Moines Register
WHO Radio with Jeff Angelo
WOI Channel 5
Iowa Public Radio
Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier
KCCI Channel 8
Quad City Times
WQAD Channel 8
Sioux City Journal


Ways to Stay Involved

We had a great day on Wednesday, and no doubt turned some heads, but the fight against the proposed credit union taxation will continue for the remainder of this legislative session. We need your help and here are some ways you can continue to stay involved.

1. Send an Email to Your Representative

As you know, Senate Republicans passed their tax reform bill on a party line vote last week. This bad legislation raises taxes on 20 credit unions and impacts about 600,000 members in Iowa. The focus now shifts to the House, who is working off the Governor's tax plan (which does not include any changes to credit unions). Click here to contact your House member and ask them to reject the Senate plan and support the Governor's plan to not increase taxes on credit unions. Please share this link broadly with colleagues, members, and other credit union supporters.

2. Call Ways and Means Committee Members

Although reaching out to every State Representative is important, those serving on the House Ways and Means Committee should be a focus. The Ways and Means Committee is currently looking at the Governor's tax reform bill and will likely be making changes to the bill before voting it out of committee. If one of these Representatives is your legislator, or if your credit union has a branch in that area, please send a short, personalized note, or give them a call.

The message is simple:  Senate Republicans' tax reform bill raises taxes on twenty credit unions and over 600,000 Iowans, while providing banks an $18 million tax cut.  Please oppose any tax increase on credit unions in the House bill.  A tax increase on credit unions is a tax increase on Iowans. 

Iowa House Ways and Means Committee Members:

Chip Baltimore Boone chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov 515-709-0325
Liz Bennett Cedar Rapids Liz.Bennett@legis.iowa.gov 319-431-1656
Michael Bergen Dorchester Michael.Bergan@legis.iowa.gov 563-380-3974
Jane Bloomingdale - Vice Chair Northwood Jane.Bloomingdale@legis.iowa.gov 641-390-0837
Peter Cownie West Des Moines peter.cownie@legis.iowa.gov 515-865-7939
John Forbes Urbandale john.forbes@legis.iowa.gov 515-778-7699
Mary Gaskill Ottumwa mary.gaskill@legis.iowa.gov 641-682-6417
Lee Hein Monticello lee.hein@legis.iowa.gov 319-465-5805
Steven Holt Denison Steven.Holt@legis.iowa.gov 712-263-8347
Chuck Isenhart Dubuque charles.isenhart@legis.iowa.gov 563-557-1261
Dave Jacoby - Ranking Member Coralville david.jacoby@legis.iowa.gov 319-430-9793
Bobby Kaufmann Wilton bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov 563-260-3355
Jerry Kearns Keokuk jerry.kearns@legis.iowa.gov
Monica Kurth Davenport Monica.Kurth@legis.iowa.gov 563-271-9332
Dave Maxwell Gibson dave.maxwell@legis.iowa.gov 641-595-2283
Charlie McConkey Council Bluffs Charlie.McConkey@legis.iowa.gov 402-676-0105
Gary Mohr Bettendorf Gary.Mohr@legis.iowa.gov 563-332-8377
Zach Nunn Bondurant Zach.Nunn@legis.iowa.gov 515-868-2046
Dawn Pettengill Mount Auburn dawn.pettengill@legis.iowa.gov 319-610-3412
Todd Prichard Charles City todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov 641-220-6414
Ken Rizer Marion Ken.Rizer@legis.iowa.gov 319-651-7316
David Sieck Glenwood David.Sieck@legis.iowa.gov 712-527-9009
Guy Vander Linden - Chair Oskaloosa guy.vander.linden@legis.iowa.gov 641-569-3373
Matt Windschitl Missouri Valley matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov 712-642-4334
Mary Wolfe Clinton mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov

563-321-9724

3. Attend a Townhall in Your Area

Every weekend during session, legislators host townhall meetings back home to provide a legislative update and listen to questions and concerns from constituents. These townhalls are a great opportunity to remind your Senator and Representative about the taxation issue and the positive impact credit unions have in your community.

Click here to find a townhall meeting in your area.

Use these talking points when talking to your Representative.

After the townhall, let us know how it went by filling out this form.


Congratulations to Review Board Appointees

The following individuals were re-appointed to the Credit Union Review Board by Governor Reynolds last week. All three currently serve on the board and, subject to Senate confirmation yet this legislative session, will begin another three-year term on May 1st.

Appointees:

  • Dave Cale, Johnston
  • Timothy Marcsisak, Atlantic
  • Becky Zemlicka, Waukee (public member)

Legislation of Interest to Credit Unions

This week, Governor Reynolds signed House File 2240 into law. This bill permits employers to provide employees with wage statements by electronic means, and provides some needed flexibility. The bill passed the Senate and House earlier with nearly unanimous support.

You can view the entire list of bills being tracked by ICUL’s lobby team at any time by going HERE.


Federal Policy Update from CUNA

Regulatory Relief

The Senate began debate on S. 2155, a bill providing regulatory relief to credit unions and community banks. A number of amendments have been filed on the bill and debate on the bill will continue in to next week.

Data Security

CUNA joined with other financial trade associations to write to Congress to correct a number of falsehoods contained in a recent retailer communication on data breaches. Retailers are attempting to push back against strong national data security standards, despite a lack of such standards causing major data breaches that bring additional costs to financial institutions. Click here to read the letter.

ADA Compliance Litigation

On Wednesday, CUNA and the Illinois Credit Union League filed an amicus brief defending Aurora Policeman Credit Union which is facing a frivolous lawsuit alleging violations of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). CUNA has been working closely with league partners to file in several states. 

Our family of companies and partners:

Iowa Credit Union League
7745 Office Plaza Dr. North, Suite 170
West Des Moines, IA 50266
800.860.6180
IowaCreditUnions.com
Privacy Policy
© Copyright 2018